Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Filter by Categories
Biosimilars Deals 2023
Other Podcasts
Other Updates
Our Awards
Patent Case Summaries
Patent Litigation
Trade Marks

More Canadian provinces implement biosimilar switching policies

Mar 24, 2023

Newfoundland and Labrador and Yukon each announced implementation of biosimilar switching policies consistent with Ontario and seven other provinces in Canada.  In Yukon from 3 April 2023, patients enrolled in the Pharmacare and the Chronic Disease and Disability Program will have six months to transition from certain biologic drugs to a biosimilar to maintain coverage.  In Newfoundland and Labrador, to maintain coverage, patients currently using Copaxone®, Enbrel®, Humalog®, Humira®, Lantus®, Lovenox®, NovoRapid®, Remicade® or Rituxan® will be transitioned to a biosimilar version on or before March 31, 2024.

We reported on previous Canadian announcements of Biosimilar switching initiatives, including Ontario’s announcement in December 2022, following British ColumbiaAlbertaNew BrunswickQuebec, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia and Saskatchewan’s earlier announcements.